The Long and Winding Road of Becoming Me

She thew away her masks and put on her soul

First, I wanted to be a veterinarian

and save the whales

Or maybe a biologist

and save the world.

But way before that,

I was an artist.

I could draw dogs and horses

All day long.

No one taught me this.

I just did it.

And people said I was a good.

I loved to write,

And make up stories in my head.

But I didn’t value those stories much.

I didn’t value my drawings and paintings

As much as I wanted to save the planet

But trigonometry hurt my brain.

So I ended up in the mind field.

Fixing me more than anyone else.

While God helped me

Help people

Save themselves.

And taught me things

I needed to learn

About saving time for me.

Along the way,

I’ve saved dogs,

I’ve saved cats,

I’ve saved trees,

And  God saved me some time.

Because the long and winding road

Never disappears.

It always lead me back to my roots

Back to the work of my soul.

 

 

I love how this song can be about anything we want to come back home to.

3 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road of Becoming Me

  1. One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to enjoy the silence, but its not New Year’s yet but I’ll start practicing by being brief – this was beautiful to read, it was very stirring and elegant. Wishing you joy and good health for you and those you love and care for. Hugs, Harlon

    • I love that you could relate to it. Thank you for this sweet compliment and for the good wishes. I wish you joy, peace, health and happiness, Harlon, and those you love, too. Hugs back! ❤

Leave a Reply

